Pizza Night

 
“That’s a great find,” I say to Imogen when she hands me a small piece of broken pottery. “It was probably the handle of a tea cup. You can see here how it connected to the cup and, look, there’s gold leaf on it still.” She takes in every word then reaches for the piece to hold with the others we have collected from the water just below Hamilton House. 

There’s a great spot for swimming there, but it’s even better for treasure hunting. We have found pieces of pottery, brick, metal, even an old pipe stem. Imogen loves peering into the water in search of white spots, and then I stick my hand down to lift out the treasure. 

The sun is still hot and the water feels warm but the days are getting shorter and I cannot escape the feeling of impending winter. In July I felt like I was stuck in some kind of parenting nightmare – two kids all day everyday – but August has gone by too fast and I’m not ready for summer to be over. I know the hot weather will continue. There will still be swimming and picnics and the beach, but the nights are colder and I know that soon I will have to stop reaching for my shorts in the morning. 

After swimming we came home to pizza night. Well, it’s pizza night for Imogen. The rest of us have steak and frittata. But Imogen loves pizza night and one pizza gives her dinner and then lunches for nearly the whole week. 

Pizza

  • 50g wild yeast starter
  • 275g whole wheat flour (I’m now using Sprouted Red Fife from Maine Grains and I love it!)
  • 180g water

Mix together and let rise for at least 6 hours. 

Add:

  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1&1/2 Tbs olive oil 

Preheat the oven to 425F.

Knead to combine. Let sit 10-15 minutes.  

 

Oil a jelly roll pan well. Press dough into the pan. Put oil on top of the dough. Then add tomato sauce – sometimes I just use tomato paste with some herbs. Top with mozerella, and other toppings if desired. Bake at 425F for 9-10 minutes. Transfer to a cooling wrack and let sit for 5 minutes before slicing.  

Leave a Reply

