Fermentation Station: Onions

 
It’s hot. Even in the middle of the night, it’s hot. It was never that hot in Britain. I almost never even wore shorts there, whilst here I’m in shorts for two months straight. 
It’s so hot that it’s even hard to remember what the snow and cold felt like. I glance at the wood stove and wonder how we ever needed its heat. This is the world I remember. The way things were where I grew up: hot summers, cold winters. Each so strong that you can’t quite call to mind the feel of the other. I feel more comfortable with these strong seasons than I ever did in the UK. There the months gently roll from cold and rainy to warmer then back to cool. I never dried out. I never got hot, so I always felt cold. 

I was glad to find that when we went back to the UK for a visit in June my winter here in Maine had made me hardier. Others would be saying that the day had chilled down and I wouldn’t have noticed. It’s the extremes that have made me hardy. All of those years of temperate seasons just made me cold and damp. 

I like it hot. It’s good for going to the beach. 

And it’s good for fermenting foods. We are going a bit “fermental” here, to coin a word. We are fermenting like crazy. Each week in our CSA there are usually several vegetables suitable for fermentation – cucumbers, cabbages, carrots, zucchini. 

We’ve been having fermented foods at every meal and the kids have really been enjoying them. They must be making an impact on Imogen because she came up with this fantastic idea to write a fermentation recipe where she draws the pictures and I do the words. A brilliant idea that I couldn’t pass up. 

This week’s recipe is for fermented red onions – illustrated by Imogen. They are sweet and tasty and leave no oniony after-taste. Enjoy! 

  

Leave a Reply

