Carrot Cake

20130118-141836.jpg

A few snowflakes linger in the air but I think the snow is about to stop. For now, at least. The powers that be predict more overnight. I’ve enjoyed watching it come down all morning. It’s a very rare treat here in the UK to see so much snow. I think we have about 6 inches on the ground now.

As I watched the snow and my toddler I thought about what to bake. Snowy house-bound days always seem to cry out for baked goods. This carrot cake was the winner. Spicy, warming and a great texture and crumb. I love it. And so does the little one. She insists on having two sections (which makes a giant piece) and then she scoops out the inside with a spoon. She was so intent on eating her piece today that I didn’t even have to read a book while we ate.

20130118-141848.jpg

Carrot Cake
adapted from The Joy of Cooking (1997)

This recipe calls for 7&3/8 oz. flour total. I usually use the combination below, but today I didn’t have millet flour, so I used 5&3/8 oz. brown rice flour and 2 oz. ground almonds and it was lovely.

4&3/8 oz. millet flour
1&1/2 oz. brown rice flour
1&1/2 oz. ground almonds
1&1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger

2/3 C light olive oil
3 eggs
1/3 C. maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract

5 oz. grated carrots approx. 1&1/2 C
Handful pecans – chopped

Rule

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F.
In a large bowl whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and spices.
In a small bowl whisk together the eggs, maple syrup, oil and vanilla.
Grate the carrots. Chop the pecans.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry with a wooden spoon. Once combined add the carrots and nuts.

Pour into a greased (I use a bit of oil on a paper towel and then rub the pan with this) bundt pan and bake at 180C/350F for approx. 25 minutes. Until brown on top and a toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

