Drop Scone Cookies

20121214-200416.jpg

It was only after my two year old was happily squeezing green drops into the cookie dough that I checked the ingredients on the natural food colouring. Last but not least inverted sugar syrup. Yuck. So my gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free cookies were ruined. I’m too much of a stickler to knowingly allow myself a drop of sugar at the moment. So these would be all for my little sweet pea.

The most annoying part was that the food colouring didn’t even make them green! But they did make great Christmas tree cookies using one of those press-cookie-makers. And the sweet pea liked them.

I have this recipe memorised now. It’s so quick to throw together and they bake in 7 minutes. It’s pretty much everything I could ask for in a cookie. Okay so it’s also a bit like a drop scone, but in my book that only makes them better. I miss my scones and these are a brilliant substitution.

Last weekend I repurposed our coffee grinder (we never drink the stuff) and now I have a quick and easy way to grind nuts into flour. The results have been very exciting. I’ve been substituting 2oz of other ground nuts for the ground almonds in this recipe and it has been wonderful. Pistachio with the hint of honey flavour was amazing and the batch I made today (after the food colouring debacle) with pecans were gorgeous. Light fluffy, and silky smooth. I noticed both the batter and the finished cookie were really smooth. Maybe because the pecans turned into more of a nut butter in the coffee grinder? I don’t know, but I like it.

Drop Scone Cookies
based on this recipe for Almond Cocoa Nib Cookies from the Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook that I found via Tea and Cookies

1oz ground almonds
2oz ground pecans (or any other nut, including just more almonds)
3&1/8oz millet flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1/4 C light olive oil
1/8 C honey
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Rule
Measure the dry ingredients into a large bowl and whisk to combine. Whisk the wet ingredients together until well blended.

A trick to get the honey out: do the olive oil first, the using the 1/4C measure that still has traces of oil measure 1/8C honey and it will pour right out because of the oil.

Add the wet to the dry and mix with a wooden spoon. Scoop with a tea spoon onto a baking tray (or put into a press-cookie-maker).

Bake at 180C/350F for 7 minutes. Turning once halfway through. Enjoy.

20121214-200435.jpg

Leave a Reply

