Walnut Waffles

20121210-132047.jpg
They say the best discoveries are made by accident. This is one of those times. My husband has been commenting since I started this restricted baking that the baked goods make him thirsty. Whilst I haven’t agreed, I am willing to admit they seemed dry or gritty; not quite the right texture. Well, one weekend morning I was making pancakes, but got interrupted by requests from my two-year-old. When I came back a quarter of an hour later, I made more pancakes, and I immediately noticed how much better their flavor and texture were. In fact, the texture seemed to be extremely close to gluten pancakes. Even my husband agreed.

So the discovery was: let the batter stand for 10 minutes and the texture of the baked goods is improved a hundred fold.

This doesn’t just work for pancakes. I’ve also tried it (with much success) with cake and of course with these waffles.

If you don’t have or don’t like walnuts any ground nut will do. I also made these with millet flour in place of the walnut and they were lovely.

I know water is a strange ingredient but I am not willing to use any ‘milk alternatives’ and find that the water works just fine with no impact on the flavor.

Walnut Waffles
adapted from the standard waffle recipe in the 1997 Joy of Cooking

5 oz. brown rice flour
1 oz. cornmeal
2&3/8 oz. ground almonds
1 oz. ground walnuts
1 Tbs baking powder
3 eggs
3/4 C + 1 Tbs water
1 Tbs honey
1/3 C light olive oil or vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

In a large bowl combine the flours, nuts, and baking powder. In a small bowl whisk together the eggs, honey, water, oil & vanilla. You want the wet ingredients to be very well blended.
Then pour the wet into the dry and whisk. The batter should be thick but whisk-able. Let stand for 10 minutes. (Note: I tried letting them sit overnight, but it was too long. They tasted too cornmeal-ly and dry again. So I’ll stick to 10 minutes in the future.) Make waffles.

20121210-132239.jpg

Leave a Reply

