The Art of Eating: Kitchen Reader Bookclub

20120531-112916.jpg

Although I haven’t read the entirety of this month’s book The Art of Eating– which is really five books crammed into one volume – I have thoroughly enjoyed what I have read. M.F.K. Fisher is as good of a read as I thought she would be. (She’s been well spoken of in other books I’ve read.)
Of course, because I’ve only just read her she reminds me of some of my favorite food bloggers, instead of the other way around. I think it must be her friendly tone and direct way of addressing the reader.

Her writing isn’t life-changing or challenging but she paints a good picture and comes out with some truly wonderful lines. I particularly love this one:

‘I still think that one of the pleasantest of all emotions is to know that I, I with my brain and my hands, have nourished my beloved few, that I have concocted a stew or a story, a rarity or a plain dish, to sustain them truly against the hungers of the world.’

In How to Cook a Wolf (the only section I read in its entirety so far) she talks about how she thinks the idea of having balanced meals has gone too far. She argues that the slavish attempt to get just the right amount of each food group at each and every meal makes for bland or down right bilious eating. And instead she advocates thinking of balancing one’s diet over the course of a day (or even days).

I really like this approach. It’s sensible and simple. And the meals that she suggests following it sound particularly appetizing partly because they focus on a few really well made dishes instead of lots of mediocre ones, and partly because they don’t force everything at you all at once. Instead you get to savor and eat your fill of one item like the feast of hot buttered toast that she suggests for breakfast.

You can see the rest of the reviews at The Kitchen Reader. And thanks to Carolyn from FoodNURD for suggesting this book.

2 thoughts on “The Art of Eating: Kitchen Reader Bookclub

  1. Pingback: The Art of Eating: May Round-Up | The Kitchen Reader

  2. This book was huge, but all the parts I read I really enjoyed. How to Cook a Wolf was also my favourite of the bits I read. I marked this sentence about a template recipe for baked tuna with sauce: it “can be varied according to the herbs and the ideas you possess.”

    Your comment comparing Fisher to a blogger is insightful. Perhaps that is why we enjoyed the book so much. She is very direct and friendly.

Leave a Reply

